LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 – Yamamoto Creates History at LIMBC 2013

0 Comments 📁 Front Page, News, Press Release 🕔05.October 2013
LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 – Yamamoto Creates History at LIMBC 2013

LANGKAWI (Oct 5): History was made on two fronts in the Langkawi International Mountain Bike Challenge (LIMBC) 2013 on Saturday.

Kohei Yamamoto of the Specialized Racing Team became the first Asian man to win the overall men’s title.

Lea Davison made it a double joy for the Specialized Racing Team when she became the first rider to defend the overall title since the LIMBC series began in 2010.

The Japanese rider Yamamoto, who carried a 2:42 lead over closest challenger Emil Lindgren of Giant Pro XC Team into the final stage, played it safe by sticking with the leading group.

Lindgren finished second behind his team-mate and 2012 LIMBC champion Fabian Giger, but could only reduce the fourth-placed Yamamoto’s overall lead by a few seconds.

“It is a dream come true to become the first Asian winner here. It was not easy because of the strong field of competitors, but I felt no pressure and raced to my true ability,” said the 28-year-old Yamamoto.

“I hope my win here will be the start of more success for the Asian riders in world-class competitions. My next target will be to compete for the title in the World Cup, and I will give myself two years to achieve it.”

Swede Lindgren took second position in the overall standings, with Frenchman Maxime Marotte of BH Brsuntour KMC occupying the third spot.

In the women’s event, Davison proved she is the queen of mountain bike in Langkawi after producing an explosive finish to cap her second successive overall title.

Defending the overall title was already a foregone conclusion before Saturday’s Stage 5, but the American was in a neck-to-neck battle with Giant Pro XC Team’s Maja Wloszczowska in a sprint to the finish.

Wloszczowska won the battle to take her first stage win in Langkawi, but lost the war for the overall title.

“I may be the defending champion, but I did not have it easy because of the tough competitors and every race was closely fought,” said Davison.

“There is something about Langkawi which brings out my best performances. Maybe it is because of the familiar muddy courses that are similar to the ones back home in Vermont. I am looking forward to return next year and win a third time.”

Wloszczowska finished second in the overall standings, with Eva Lechner of Colnago Sudtirol taking third spot.

“After a string of second and third place finishes in Langkawi and the last two tournaments I competed in, it feels good to finally get a stage win,” said Wloszczowska.

“Although I was eyeing the overall title before the start of the competition, Lea was simply too good and deserved her victory. I am satisfied with my overall second placing in this tough competition.”

All the riders who finished in the podium places for the Stage 5 and overall standings received their medals and prize money from LIMBC honorary patron Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

Davison received US$10,000 prize money for winning the overall title.

Yamamoto, who won US$15,000 for his men’s overall title, also took home an extra US$500 as the best Asian male rider in the championships.

The best Asian female rider award and US$500 prize money went to Indonesia’s Kusmawati Yazid, who finished ahead of Malaysia’s Masyizaton Radzi.

But Masyizaton did not return empty handed after bagging the best Malaysian female rider award and US$1000 cash prize.

Marzio Deho of Cicli Olympia and Mads Bodker of Davinci Specialized both won their Stage 5 races yesterday to be crowned the Men’s masters and senior masters overall champions respectively. Both Deho and Bodker each received US$3,500 winner’s purse.

LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 (3)

LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 (4)

LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 (2)

LIMBC 2013 Stage 5 (5)



Stage Five

Men’s open

1. Fabian Giger (Sui) Giant Pro XC Team 34:13

2. Emil Lindgren (Swe) Giant Pro XC Team 34:13

3. Rourke Croeser (Rsa) Kargo Mountain Bike Team 34:16


Women’s open:

1. Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Giant Pro XC Team 26:21

2. Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 26:21

3. Nathalie Schneitter (Sui) Colnago Sudtirol 26:23


Men’s masters:

1. Marzio Deho (Ita) Cicli Olympia 31:39

2. Nicholas Craig (GBR) Scott 31:45

3. Patrick Jansen (Ned) Ten Tusscher 32:51


Men’s senior masters:

1. Mads Bodker (Den) Davinci Specialized 33:58

2. Craig Peacock (Aus) Chase Racing Team 35:15

3. Deon Wilkins (Rsa) South Africa 35:39


Overall classification:

Men’s open:

1. Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Specialized Racing 10’09:21

2. Emil Lindgren (Swe) Giant Pro XC Team 10’12:03

3. Maxime Marrotte (Fra) BH Brsuntour KMC 10’20:10


Women’s open:

1. Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 9’40:02

2. Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Giant Pro XC Team 9’45:57

3. Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol 9’51:11


Men’s masters:

1. Marzio Deho (Ita) Cicli Olympia 8’48:09

2. Nicholas Craig (GBR) Scott 8’49:52

3. Patrick Jansen (NED) Ten Tusscher 9’23:38


Men’s senior masters:

1. Mads Bodker (Den) Davinci Specialized 9’47:32

2. Derek David Milne (Nzl) Nelson MTB Club 9’50:28

3. Jirawat Chulak (Tha) Endurace 10’22:33

No Comments

Sorry, No Comments, Yet !

There are no comments for this article at this moent, but you can be first one to leave a comment.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *