Fabulous Fabian and Lea clinch titles | LIMBC Malaysia 2015

Langkawi International Mountain Bike Challenge 2015


Fabulous Fabian and Lea clinch titles

0 Comments 📁 Press Release LIMBC 2012 🕔20.October 2012
Fabulous Fabian and Lea clinch titles

(Langkawi, 20 October 2012): Fabian Giger and Lea Davison have officially conquered the third edition of Langkawi International Mountain Bike Challenge (LIMBC) after executing a well-thought strategy at the penultimate stage of the race today.

Giger and Davison paced themselves well in their respective category as both cemented their healthy lead to wrest the challenge trophy at Pantai Kok Short Circuit.

The Swiss Ace from Rabobank-Giant triumphed by staying close to the leading pack by finishing sixth in the sprint finish dubbed as “The Beach Sprint” as the race was won by defending champion Karl Platt from Team Bulls with Florian Vogel of Scott Swisspower and Burry Stander from Team Specialized joining the podium stage in second and third place respectively.

Nevertheless, it was enough for Giger to secure the overall leader as the yellow jersey holder a comfortable lead of 6.18 seconds into the final stage.

“I knew I have a good lead before the race today so I just need to stay close to the leading pack. This is a memorable win for me. It is a quite tough throughout in the overall race in Langkawi considering the heat, humidity, rain, deep trail, slippery tracks and all. But now I am super-happy of winning it today,” said the World Cup fifth-placed rider.

In the Women’s Open, Davison with time advantage of nine-minute and 21 seconds, finished in the second place as the pink jersey rider was alone upfront against team tactics by finishing second behind Eva Lechner from Colnado-Sudtirol and her teammates defending champion Nathalie Schneitter in third.

After scaling the hilly terrains and engaging in small battles against mud, insects and leeches all week, the 29-year-old American girl was ecstatic after the race by running to the beach and dived into the water.

“I am so pleased to be on the podium and to win the title. The whole race was hard but fun and I have to compliment the organizer for the good organization and allowing the riders to enjoy the waterfall and majestic stretch along the stream and beaches.

“I have quite strong lead before Stage 5 today. Well, the second place was the ideal way to end the race. To win this race in Asia for the first time, it is really a treat,” said Davison, who made the decision to enter LIMBC 2012 after the London Olympics.

Malaysia’s best finishes overall was Abdul Razak Kamis with a third-placed placing in the Senior Men’s Master while Masziyaton Mohd Radzi clinched ninth position in the Women’s Open. Nevertheless, Fauzan Ahmad Lutfi managed a respectable outing against world class rider in the Men’s Open by finishing in 15th position.

Tradewinds Corporation and Yayasan Sime Darby are the co-sponsors as Platinum Partners for LIMBC 2012. Silver sponsors are Telekom Malaysia, Berjaya Corporation Berhad,  Maju Group and Proton Holdings Berhad.  Bronze partners are AmBank Group and ALM Group Sdn Bhd. The event is supported by the Langkawi Development Authority (LADA).


LIMBC Men’s Open champion Fabian Giger from Rabobank-Giant parading his trophy and mountain bike by the Pantai Kok beach


LIMBC 2012 OVERALL Classification 

Men’s Open

1. Fabian Giger (Switzerland – Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team) 10:40:04.895

2. Kristian Hynex (Czech Republic, Ceska Sporitelna Specialized) 10:46:22.991

3. Karl Platt (Germany – Team Bulls) 10:52:25.611

4. Emil Lindgren (Sweden – Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team) 10:54:11.384

5. Max Knox (South Africa – Team Specialized) 11:03:48.121

6. Leisling Matthias (Germany – Black Tusk Racing By Tomotion) 11:16:28.802

7. Marx Torsten (Germany- Black Tusk Racing By Tomotion) 11:18:32.823

8. Karl Markt (Austria – Feltz-O-Bionic)11:22:15.010

9. Burry Stander (South Africa – Team Specialized) 11:23:53.897

10. Todd Wells (United States of America – Team Specialized) 11:25:56.588

Women’s Open 

1. Lea Davison (United States of America – Team Specialized) 11:05:04.428

2. Elisabeth Sveum (Norway – Norway) 11:15:06.446

3. Janka Stevkova (Slovakia,Slovakia) 11:19:44.573

4. Nathalie Schneitter (Switzerland – Colnago Sudtirol ) 11:24:14.667

5. Eva Lechner (Italy – Colnago Sudtirol) 11:37:34.174

6. Blaza Klemencic (Slovania ,Felt Otztal X- Bionic) 11:53:14.337

7. Julia Innerhofer (Italy – Colnago Sudtirol) 11:22:07.613

8. Jenni King (Australia – Anytime Fitness/Trek ) 12:42:35.594

9. Masziyaton Mohd Radzi (Malaysia – Kedah SBS Giant ) 13:17:56.994

10. Junaidah Juss (Malaysia, ARUS) 14:18:13.624




30 minutes, Lap Distance 1.6km

Men’s Open

1. Karl Platt (Germany – Team Bulls) 0:31:46.40

2. Florian Vogel (Swiss – Scott Swisspower) 0:31:46.40

3. Burry Stander (South Africa – Team Specialized) 0:31:46.40


Women’s Open

1. Eva Lechner (Italy – Colnago Sudtirol) 0:30:44.00

2. Lea Davison (United States of America – Team Specialized) 0:30:58.00

3. Nathalie Schneitter ( Switzerland  – Colnago Sudtirol ) 0:30:58.00

No Comments

Sorry, No Comments, Yet !

There are no comments for this article at this moent, but you can be first one to leave a comment.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *